Metal and Machines

My son has a mind for metal and machines. If it has wheels, tracks, or turbines, he’s into it. And, the more noise it makes, the better.

I’m moderately terrified that he’s going to come to me one day with an earnest request to help him rebuild some battered old muscle car. My evenings and weekends will alternate between slogging through Chliton manuals and splayed out flat on my back on the concrete floor of the garage.

It could be worse. I mean, I’m pretty handy with tools. That’s a trait born of necessity, though. It’s not at all recreational.

Still… I would do it in a heartbeat and love it just for the opportunity to hang out with my little buddy.

His favorite place to go these days is Anchorage House of Hobbies. Visits there are his reward for things like paying attention to his coach at gymnastics. He gets to go if he is keeping up with piano practice. It’s where he wants to spend the disposable portion of his “save, spend, share” money.

Anchorage House of Hobbies is pretty much a big, big deal. Usually, Lucas gets lost in scale model trains, digital racecars, and remote control monster trucks. He loves any kind of racecar, though. So, I thought he might enjoy building a model, and I picked one up for the two of us to work on together.

Um… yeah.

Big hit.

He’s six, so super glue and paint would probably spell disaster. Cool thing, though. They make these kits called Snap Tite Models now. The kits still come in sprue-attached jumbles like they did when I was a kid. However, interlocking bits have replaced finger-adhering glue and stickers-sets sit in for decals and Testors paint. Super cool for little ones with busy fingers.

And so, despite my once and future personal trepidations… my son has his first Camaro.

Behold!

It took a couple days to put the thing together. I was a little worried that he would lose interest and that I would have to finish the thing for him. He didn’t, though. He couldn’t wait for the weekend to tear into the project. He read all the instructions completely, product warnings and manufactures details included. Day two? He was still just as excited and he’s already started to deliberate over what his next model will be.

He did a great job. I can’t wait for the next one!

Leave a Reply

