Writing Tip: Audio Notes

I haven’t posted much about writing lately. That’s probably because I’ve been planning writing more than I’ve actually been writing writing.

I have some revisions on Cravings that I want to finish before November. Working through that rewrite should get me rolling in anticipation of National Novel Writing Month (NaNoWriMo). I’m also planning on going into NaNoWriMo with a well-developed pitch and a clear outline.

That takes planning.

I wanted to share a tool that has become invaluable to me in all stages of the writing process, but especially with concept work. It’s a little recorder app on my phone called AudioMemos. There is a free version, and I can’t remember exactly what the distinctions between the paid and free versions are anymore. However, I do remember that I was very happy when I upgraded to the paid version. I berated myself for dragging my heels before forking out the $0.99 for the full app.

I know that some people are religious about keeping a pen and notepad on them at all times. That’s true for both my writing and musician friends, actually. I’m just not good and keeping track of those things. I misplace stuff all the time. I am, however, never without two things, my wedding ring and my cell phone.

Drop me in any city on earth and I’m going to be fine as long as I have my phone and my credit card. To be honest, if I have my phone… I can get a new credit card.

The perpetual presence of my preferred IT peripheral lets me capture details, ideas, and loose end tie-offs. Driving, running, watching the kids on the playground… all are potential problem solving opportunities.

Heck. I still have the recording of the original idea for Cravings on my phone. You can hear my kids splashing in the background. That’s because I worked through the original concept and a rough outline of the plot during bathtime one evening.

It just kills me when I have one of those, “Oh! That’s brilliant. I have to remember this and write it down when I get home.” moments.

Yeah… those get remembered maybe 10% of the time.

Anyway, I don’t really do app recommendations. This is one that I wholeheartedly endorse, though. I’m sure there are a ton of good ones available. AudioMemos is just the one that I latched onto. Pick one and get comfortable enough so that it’s never more than quick click away.

I haven’t decided which novel I’m going to do for NaNoWriMo next month. It’s between a new Chad Clifton book and a Sci-Fi mystery that I’m falling more and more in love with. Whichever way I decide to go, I have nearly a dozen rambling recordings on each to feed into my outline.

One last thing on NaNoWriMo. My buddy Robby (@robby1066 on Twitter) posted this the other day. Cracked me up and I thought that I should share.

  Robby Macdonell (@robby1066)
10/15/12 2:24 PMWhenever I look at the word NaNoWriMo, all I see is this google.com/search?q=nanai…

Har har… =)

2 thoughts on “Writing Tip: Audio Notes

  1. Nice idea. I’ve tried the little-notebook thing too. Generally I remember to carry it for about two days, then forget the whole idea for months. But I do carry a phone…hmm. I guess I just lost my excuse.

    Right now (well, starting again in about five minutes) I’m working on a book that’s NaNoWriMo residue from a couple of years back–feels good to pick it up again. But I doubt I’ll be done in time to start a new one this year…in fact I’m sure I won’t. Still, I kinda love Novembers.

    • That’s totally what I do, too. I’ve even bought nice leather ones and expensive pens to give me some ‘skin in the game’. It never fails, though. Couple days to a week in and I have a thought to record and nothing to jot it down on.

      I also take a lot of notes in the car. Very easy to mumble into the mic on my earphones while I’m driving. Scribbling on a notepad? Mmmm… not so much.

Leave a Reply

