Sunday Sketch: New Pens!

Today’s Sunday Sketch is the result of bit of experimentation. I’ve been playing around with drawing eyes and decided to practice inking over my pencil sketches.

One piece of advice from Doug Hills in his book Manga Studio for Dummies is to try as many different types of pens as possible when you’re learning to ink. Taking that advice to heart, I picked up about forty bucks worth of pens to play around with.

My favorites by far are the Faber-Castell artist pens, both the straight pens and the brushes. I also really like the Copic Multiliners for fine work. If the Copic’s were a little cheaper, I’d consider keeping a bunch around for everyday writing.

At any rate, here’s the inked sketch. Let me know what you think and feel free to offer advice in the comments.

SundaySketch_20130512

2 thoughts on “Sunday Sketch: New Pens!

Leave a Reply

