Writing Income – May 2015

The numbers are in! May is in the books, edits are complete and all the invoices are away.

May was a super busy writing month. The revenue numbers won’t show just how busy, because I can’t bill for everything yet, but I might have over committed myself just a wee little bit.

Late in April, I accepted two new non-fiction clients. As far as word count goes – May was shaping up to be a normal month, albeit slanted heavily away from fiction. Then I got some awesome news.

In the fall of 2013, at Worldcon in San Antonio, Texas, my buddy and fellow author Griffin Barber introduced me to editor David Ladyman. David was working on source material for Chris Roberts’ new, Kickstarter-funded game Star Citizen. We hit it off, and David asked me to pitch some story ideas for the game.

I read Griffin’s serial, “A Separate Law,” and everything else they had at the time and sent David a couple ideas. He liked one, we refined a couple things to keep the programmers from having fits and I drafted a 12-part serial for the game in early 2014.

… and then the waiting.

There’s a lot that goes in to making a game, so I wasn’t put out by the delay. Still, when David contacted me in April, I was excited to hear that my story, “Brothers In Arms,” was about to see print.

Brothers In Arms” is currently behind a pay wall.
I’ll update when it’s available to the public.

Several things changed about the story, not the least of which being that it is four parts instead of the original twelve serialized episodes. David is a fantastic editor. He’s firm about what needs to happen, yet both tactful and thoughtful about how he delivers his notes. The first episode was slated for print on May 15, and that meant my month jump from full to oh-holy-crap’n’stuff busy.

I had some late nights, and thank you to my wife for her patience and accommodation.

May 2015
I wrote both fiction and non-fiction in May. Revenue numbers for the month will only show non-fiction billing, as I won’t invoice for the Star Citizen novella until each of the episodes are approved and finalized.

So, no pie chart this month. It’d just be one big “non-fiction” disk. I’ll also do an end-of-year wrap up with a line graph that tracks earnings and expenses throughout the year. 

Revenue:        $2,133

Expenses:       $90

Net:                 $2,043

About my writing
For the record, I’m married with two young children and am very active with the family. My wife travels (often for extended periods of time), so I single parent when she’s away. I have a full-time job and we own a small business. My wife and I coach mountain biking in the summer and cross country skiing in the winter.

Writing for me is predominately constrained to evenings, with an occasional weekend-daytime sprint. Fiction is my passion, but I sell more non-fiction words.

Leave a Reply

