How much money does a writer make? – September 2015

My writing income posts are inspired by Jim C. Hines
and his willingness to help authors understand the personal finance side of writing.

September’s writing income numbers are a wee bit belated this month. My apologies for that.

I mentioned in last month’s revenue post that I had to ease back on my non-fiction commitments. The same was true for September and you’ll see it reflected in the numbers.

I will be stepping away from my day job to write full-time, but I haven’t yet nailed down a date for that departure yet. The decision is public; it’s out there and final. Still, I don’t yet know if it’s a two-week or a six-month thing. Obviously, I’ll make some noise about the change when it happens.

Revisiting last month’s quick note about fiction
Last month I teased about some positive news on the fiction front. That’s still “a thing,” and I hope to be able to share details as early as next month.

September 2015
I wrote non-fiction only in September.

Non-fiction revenue:        $1,207

Expenses:                             $57

Net:                                         $1,150

 About my writing
For the record, I’m married with two young children and am very active with the family. My wife travels (often for extended periods of time), so I single parent when she’s away. I have a full-time job and we own a small business. My wife and I coach mountain biking in the summer and cross country skiing in the winter.

Writing for me is predominately constrained to evenings, with an occasional weekend-daytime sprint. Fiction is my passion, but I sell more non-fiction words.

Leave a Reply

