How much money does a writer make? – November 2015

My Writing Income posts are inspired by Jim C. Hines
and his willingness to help authors understand the personal finance side of writing.

November’s income post is somewhat belated, but that’s because the last couple months have been wonderfully eventful. As of December 4, 2015, I am self-employed as a full-time writer and artist.

I had hoped to put together a post that combines my move to full-time writer with November’s writing income, but I’m starting to run out of month.

November 2015
So… with out further embellishment or delay, here are the numbers for November.

 

Non-fiction revenue:        $1,477.50

Expenses:                              $559.00

Net:                                         $918.50

 

About my writing
For the record, I’m married with two young children and am very active with the family. My wife travels (often for extended periods of time), so I single parent when she’s away. I have a full-time job and we own a small business. My wife and I coach mountain biking in the summer and cross country skiing in the winter.

Writing for me is predominately constrained to evenings, with an occasional weekend-daytime sprint. Fiction is my passion, but I sell more non-fiction words.

Leave a Reply

